

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

August 2, 2017

Contact: Ellen Weiss eweiss@biophysics.org

Jue Chen to Receive 2018 Anatrace Membrane Protein Award

Rockville, MD — The Biophysical Society is pleased to announce that Jue Chen, professor and head of the Laboratory of Membrane Biology and Biophysics, Rockefeller University, and an Howard Hughes Medical Institute investigator, has been named the recipient of the Society's 2018 Anatrace Membrane Protein Award. Chen will be honored at the Society's 62nd Annual Meeting at the Moscone Center in San Francisco, California, on Tuesday, February 20, during the Awards Symposium. She will also give a short talk at that time.

Chen is being recognized for her contributions to the understanding of the molecular mechanisms of multidrug transporters, especially the cystic fibrosis transmembrane conductance regulator, and her advancements in finding more effective therapies for human diseases. Funded by Anatrace, Inc., this award recognizes an outstanding investigator who has made a significant contribution to the field of membrane protein research.

The Biophysical Society, founded in 1958, is a professional, scientific Society established to encourage development and dissemination of knowledge in biophysics. The Society promotes growth in this expanding field through its annual meeting, monthly journal, and committee and outreach activities. Its 9000 members are located throughout the U.S. and the world, where they teach and conduct research in colleges, universities, laboratories, government agencies, and industry. For more information on these awards, the Society, or the 2018 Annual Meeting, visit www.biophysics.org.

OFFICERS

President

Lukas Tamm University of Virginia

President-Elect

Angela Gronenborn University of Pittsburgh

Past-President

Suzanne Scarlata
Worcester Polytechnic Institute

Secretary

Frances Separovic
University of Melbourne

Treasurer

Kalina Hristova Johns Hopkins University

Executive Officer

Rosalba Kampman Biophysical Society, Rockville

COUNCIL

Zev Bryant Jane Clarke Bertrand Garcia-Moreno Teresa Giraldez Ruben Gonzalez, Jr. Ruth Heidelberger Robert Nakamoto Arthur Palmer Gabriela Popescu Marina Ramirez-Alvarado Erin Sheets

BIOPHYSICAL JOURNAL

Editor-in-Chief Jane Dyson

Joanna Swain

COMMITTEE CHAIRS

Awards

Betsy Komives

Early Careers

Bert Tanner

Education

Gina MacDonald

Gina MacDonald

Finance

Kalina Hristova

Inclusion and Diversity Marina Ramirez-Alvarado

International Relations

Daumantas Matulis

Member Services

Frances Separovic Membership

Juliette Lecomte

Nominating

Art Palmer

Professional Opportunities

for Women (CPOW)

Gabriela Popescu

Public Affairs

Edward Egelman

Publications

Olaf Anderson

Thematic Meetings Richard Aldrich